All Time Fav: Blush

Hi all! So for this All Time Fav blog product, I’ve decided to discuss my favourite blush. I feel like it’s so important to find your holy grail blush, as it makes such a difference to your look. After years and years of using any-old blush- usually the first one the I pick up in my drawer- I finally decided that I needed to search and select for one that I can use over and over again and that was the perfect colour.

I had heard great things about nars blushes, however had never actually tried them. One in particular that had been recommended to me for my skin tone from both professional MAU’s and friends/ family is NAR’s Blush in Orgasm. So I eventually relented and bought it.

(Original Images by TriedAndTestedBeautyProducts)

At Mecca Maxima it retails for $44, which is a lot of money to spend on a blush I thought. On the website it says ‘The ideal blush to brighten and rejuvenate your complexion, available in a range of colours to suit all skin tones.’ This description, the price and the fact that it’s  great reputation meant that I had very high expectations for such a coveted item. I eventually purchased mine from Mecca, thinking that there was no wore that a blush could be worth the $44 price tag.

13434103_522170524642086_1085160729_n

(Original Image by TriedAndTestedBeautyProducts)

My first impression of the packaging was that it was really sleek and elegant. Unfortunately the packaging does get quite dirty in make-up drawers/ bags because it’s black and uses a certain material, however this is just a minor flaw. Upon actually applying the product to my cheekbones, I was honestly blown away by how amazing it was! It is super pigmented and you definitely only need a little bit as it goes a long way (see below swatches) It is a beautiful color which would probably suit most skin-tones. It is also buttery and very easy to blend. Nar’s Orgasm definitely lives up to its rep- something that can’t be said about most cult products. I use it as part of my daily make-up routine as well as when I’m going out- it’s so versatile. Regarding the price- I think if you are willing to invest in a high-quality blush that you will use everyday, then this is the blush for you. I have used mine daily for the past 6 months, and I’m not even half-way through.

236adbe102fd9a524fa3a5be3e4c1266

Nars is owned by Shiseido, which is a company which tests on animals, however Nars IS a cruelty free company- their products don’t test on animals. Nars is NOT sold in China where animal testing is mandatory for foreign cosmetics companies (Cruelty Free Kitty, 2016). Nars is not a vegan brand however. I personally think it’s great that Nars doesn’t test on animals, especially given the pressure they are likely under to trade in China alongside Shiseido. It is obviously far better than buying from a brand that does straight up test on animals. I do however understand that some people would be uncomfortable buying from Nars when they are indirectly supporting their parent company-Shiseido- that DOES test on animals. To read more about this moral dilemma, click here.

Best Thing: The pigmentation & colour

Worst Thing: The packaging

Buy it from Mecca Maxima online here.

Thanks for reading- TriedAndTestedBeautyProducts x

Leave a Reply

